Transcriptions | Johannes Lecküchner

Johannes Lecküchner PDFA Falchion / Langes Messer Fencing Treatise by Johannes Lecküchner (1482)

 

Lecküchner's Langes Messer treatise is freely available as a PDF document for training and research purposes (646 pages, 47 MB). It contains:

  • Part 1 – An introductory section about Lecküchner's Messer fencing, weapons and the author's approach on the manuscripts.
  • Part 2 – The main part of the document features
    • all illustrations from codex Cgm 582,
    • transcription of the text,
    • English translation of the text,
    • plus a transcription and translation of differing contents in Lecküchner's Heidelberg codex Cpg 430 as footnotes.
  • Part 3 – A concordance table of the manuscripts Cgm 582, Cpg 430 and Cod.I.6.4o.3 (Jude Lew), list of figures and bibliography.

About the author

Dr Grzegorz Żabiński (Upper Silesia, PL), historian and archaeologist. Apart from medieval and early Renaissance martial arts, his research interests also include weaponry studies and archaeometallurgy. He is currently employed at the Institute of History of Jan Długosz Academy in Częstochowa, PL.

Co-authors

Russ Mitchell (Texas) is a historian and experimental archaeologist specializing in medieval arms and armor. He holds teaching ranks in several martial arts and has a special focus on Central and Eastern-European weaponry.

Falko Fritz is a historical fencer from Hamburg. Since 2009 he holds the weekly training for Langes Messer at Hammaborg – historischer Schwertkampf e.V.

Reviewer

Gerhard Gohr is instructor for Langes Messer at Der Fechtsaal, Krefeld, and an experienced interpreter of Lecküchner's techniques.

The translation in the PDF document is independent from the partial translation by Falko Fritz found online on this website (see below).

PDF Download


 

Annotations

 

The Manuscript

The source Cgm 582 is an illustrated manuscript in early new high German, completed by Johannes Lecküchner, priest in Herzogenaurach, in the night of the 19. January 1482. Presumably it was made for Philip the Upright, Elector Palatine of the Rhine from 1476 to 1508.
The book contains 216 folios sized 30 x 20.7 cm and it's written in a bastarda. Today it is kept in the Bayrische Staatsbibliothek in Munich. The text itself is a copy of an earlier manuscript by the same author, Cod. Pal. germ. 430, Universitätsbibliothek Heidelberg, which is without illustrations.

The Contents

The Messer fencing book by Johannes Lecküchner is unique in several aspects, compared to other medieval German fencing books: The presentation of fencing techniques with all the three elements illustration, verse and detailed explanation is not to be found in any other comparable manuscript from the 15. century. Additionally, the book deals with Messer fencing only, it is not a compendium of knightly martial arts in general.

Even though, the teachings are clearly based in Master Liechtenauer's tradition. The alignment of the chapters, the description of guards and hidden strikes, the verses and many texts themselves have their counterparts in the sources covering the Longsword, e.g. the manuscript 44 A 8 (“Peter von Danzig“), 1452.

Still Lecküchner extends Master Liechtenauer's system and renames several techniques. All in all he lists 23 main pieces including six hidden strikes, five of which have an equivalent in Liechtenauer's Longsword, plus 17 additional main pieces. However, the extent of the chapters differs greatly: While 132 pages are dedicated to disarming techniques (“taking the Messer“), there is only one single page about the “Zwinger“ (the Schielhau in the Longsword). It might be concluded that the Zwinger was only added to complete the handing down of Liechtenauer's verses.

The three most extensive chapters add up to more than half of the book: Taking the Messer, Durchlaufen and Überlaufen - all of them techniques that mostly end up in wrestling, be it wrestling with the Messer, with the arms or throws and takedowns. It is fair to assume that this emphasis on wrestling is a consequence of having a shorter weapon (compared to the Longsword) and an empty hand for grappling.

The Translation

The translation is based on the transcription by Carsten and Julia Lorbeer, Johann Heim, Robert Brunner and Alexander Kiermayer of the Gesellschaft für pragmatische Schriftlichkeit, which is downloadable as PDF document. To give a starting point for Messer fencing, the first pages of each chapter were translated.

It was tried to use modern language as close as possible to the original text and avoid interpretations. Obvious mistakes like confusing “his“ and “your“ or right and left were corrected in some few cases. On many pages Lecküchner repeats the verse or its beginning in the explanation; these repetitions were replaced by the annotation [Rep.v.].

Glossary

Ablaufen - running off
Abnehmen - taking off
Abschneiden - cutting off
Absetzen - setting off
Ansetzen - setting on
Duplieren - doubling
Durchgehen / geh durch - go through
Durchwechseln / wechsel durch - change through
Durchlaufen / lauf durch - running through
Eber - guard position, “boar”
Einlaufen - running in
Entrüsthau - hidden strike, “disarming strike”
Geferhau - hidden strike, “danger strike”
Hängen - hanging
Halbhau - “half strike”
Indes - simultaneously, instantly
Langes Messer - long knife
Luginsland - guard position, “look over the land”
Messer - knife
Messernehmen - taking the Messer
Mordschlag - strike with the pommel
Mutieren - mutating
Nachreißen - jerking after
Oberhau - strike from above
Pastei - guard position, “bastion”
Pnehmen / pnimm - removing(?)
Pogen - arc / bow
Schrankhut - “barrier guard”
Sonnenzeigen - showing the sun
Stier - guard position, “bull”
Überlaufen / lauf über - running over
Unterhau - strike from below
Wecker - hidden strike, “wakener”
Winden - winding
Winker - hidden strike, “waver”
Zornhau - hidden strike, “wrath strike”
Zornhau-Ort - Zornhau-point
Zucken - jerking / snatching
Zufechten - approaching in fencing / getting into striking distance / engagement
Zwinger - hidden strike, “forcer”

Additional Links

Complete scan of Cgm 582 as PDF
Complete scan of Cgm 582 online
Transcription of the text

Falko Fritz, October 2010

Foreword

Zornhau

Wecker

Entrüsthau

Zwinger

Geferhau

Winker

Four Guards

Four Displacements

Nachreisen

Überlaufen

Absetzen

Durchwechseln

Zucken

Durchlaufen

Cuts

Pressing

Ablaufen

Pnehmen

Going Through

Pogen

Taking the Messer

Verhängen

Winding

Transkriptionen | Johannes Lecküchner

Johannes Leck├╝chner PDFA Falchion / Langes Messer Fencing Treatise by Johannes
Leck├╝chner (1482)

 

Lecküchners Messerfechtlehre ist zu Trainings- und Fortschungszwecken frei als PDF-Dokument verfügbar (646 Seiten, 47 MB). Es enthält:

  • Teil 1 – Einleitender Abschnitt über Lecküchners Fechtlehre, Waffen und die Herangehensweise der Autoren an die Manuskripte.
  • Teil 2 – Der Hauptteil beinhaltet
    • alle Abbildungen aus der Quelle Cgm 582,
    • die Transkription des Textes,
    • die Übersetzung der Texte ins Englische,
    • sowie die Transkription und Übersetzung abweichender Inhalte im Heidelberger Codex Cpg 430 als Fußnoten.
  • Teil 3 – Eine vergleichende Tabellierung der Quellen Cgm 582, Cpg 430 und Cod.I.6.4o.3 (Jude Lew), das Abbildungs- und Literaturverzeichnis.

Über den Autor

Dr. Grzegorz ┼╗abi┼äski (Oberschlesien, Polen), Historiker und Archäologe. Neben den Kampfkünsten des Mittelalters und der frühen Renaissance umfasst sein Forschungsinteresse auch die Waffenkunde und die Archäometallurgie. Er ist derzeit am Institut f├╝r Geschichte an der Jan D┼éugosz Akademie in Cz─Östochowa, Polen, beschäftigt.

Mitverfasser

Russ Mitchell (Texas) spezialisiert sich als Historiker und experimenteller Archäologe auf mittelalterliche Waffen und Rüstungen. Er besitzt Trainerstatus in mehreren Kampfkünsten und legt seinen speziellen Fokus auf die zentral- und osteuropäischen Bewaffnungen.

Falko Fritz ist ein historischer Fechter aus Hamburg. Seit 2009 leitet er das wöchentliche Training für das Lange Messer bei Hammaborg – historischer Schwertkampf e.V.

Lektor

Gerhard Gohr ist Trainer für Langes Messer bei Der Fechtsaal, Krefeld, mit großer Erfahrung in der Interpretation von Lecküchners Techniken.

Die Übersetzung im PDF-Dokument ist unabhängig von der Teilübersetzung von Falko Fritz, die auf dieser Website online zu finden ist (siehe unten).

PDF Download


 

Anmerkungen

 

Die Handschrift

Die Quelle Cgm 582 ist eine bebilderte Handschrift in neuhochdeutscher Sprache, fertiggestellt von Johannes Lecküchner, Pfarrer von Herzogenaurach, in der Nacht des 19. Januar 1482. Es handelt sich um eine Auftragsarbeit für Philipp den Aufrichtigen, Kurfürst der Pfalz von 1476 bis 1508.
Das Buch enthält 216 Blätter im Format 30 x 20,7 cm und ist in einer Bastarda geschrieben. Heute befindet es sich in der Bayrischen Staatsbibliothek München. Der Text selbst ist eine Kopie einer früheren Handschrift des gleichen Autors von 1478, Cod. Pal. germ. 430, Universitätsbibliothek Heidelberg. Dieses Werk enthält jedoch keine Illustrationen.

Der Inhalt

Die Kunst des Messerfechtens nach Johannes Lecküchner weist im Vergleich mit den anderen Feschtbüchern aus dem deutschsprachigen Raum einige Besonderheiten auf: Die Darstellung von Fechttechniken mithilfe aller drei Merkmale Bild, Vers und ausführlicher Erläuterung findet sich so in keinem anderen Manuskript des 15. Jahrhunderts. Des Weiteren befasst sich das Buch ausschließlich mit dem langen Messer, es ist eben kein Kompendium der Gesamtheit ritterlicher Kampfkünste.

Die Lehren sind dennoch eindeutig der Tradition Liechtenauers zuzuordnen. Die Anordnung der Kapitel, die Beschreibung von Huten und verborgenen Hieben, die Merkverse und viele Texte selbst finden sich in sehr ähnlicher Form in den Quellen zum langen Schwert, z.B. im Manuskript 44 A 8 („Peter von Danzig“), 1452.

Lecküchner erweitert das liechtenauersche System jedoch und versieht die Techniken teilweise mit neuen Namen. Insgesamt zählt er 23 Hauptstücke auf, darunter sechs verborgene Hiebe, von denen fünf ihre Entsprechung in Liechtenauers Versen zum langen Schwert finden, sowie 17 weitere Hauptstücke. Der Umfang der einzelnen Kapitel ist jedoch stark unterschiedlich: Während den Entwaffnungen („Das Messer nehmen“) 132 Seiten gewidmet sind, gibt es zum „Zwinger“ (dem Schielhau im langen Schwert) genau eine einzige Seite. Es liegt die Vermutung nahe, dass der Zwinger nur aus Gründen der Vollständigkeit aus den liechtenauerschen Versen übertragen wurde.

Die drei längsten Kapitel füllen zusammen mehr als die Hälfte des Buches: Das Messer nehmen, Durchlaufen und Überlaufen - allesamt Techniken, die überwiegend ins Ringen übergehen, sei es Ringen mit dem Messer, mit den Armen oder Wurf- und Hebetechniken. Es ist anzunehmen, dass diese hervorgehobene Stellung des Ringens auf die Kombination einer kürzeren Waffe (im Vergleich zum langen Schwert) und einer freien Hand zum Greifen zurückzuführen ist.

Die Übersetzung

Die Übersetzung erfolgte anhand der Transkription der Gesellschaft für pragmatische Schriftlichkeit von Carsten und Julia Lorbeer, Johann Heim, Robert Brunner und Alexander Kiermayer, die als Pdf-Dokument verfügbar ist. Um einen umfassenden Einblick in die Kunst des Messerfechtens zu geben, wurden zunächst die jeweils ersten Seiten eines jeden Kapitels übersetzt.

Es wurde versucht, den Wortlaut möglichst originalgetreu und ohne Interpretation in die moderne Sprache zu übertragen. An ganz wenigen Stellen sind eindeutige Verwechselungen von „dein“ und „sein“ oder rechts und links in der Übersetzung korrigiert. Auf vielen Seiten wiederholt Lecküchner im erläuternden Text noch einmal den Wortlaut des voranstehenden Verses bzw. dessen Anfang; diese Wiederholungen wurden durch den Vermerk [Wdh.V.] ersetzt.

Weitere Links

Kompletter Scan von Cgm 582 als PDF
Kompletter Scan von Cgm 582 im Netz
Transkription des Textes

Falko Fritz, Oktober 2010

Vorrede

Zornhau

Wecker

Entrüsthau

Zwinger

Geferhau

Winker

Vier Leger

Vier Versatzungen

Nachreisen

Überlaufen

Absetzen

Durchwechseln

Zucken

Durchlaufen

Schnitte

Drücken

Ablaufen

Pnehmen

Durchgehen

Der Pogen

Messer nehmen

Verhängen

Winden